Victoria Dock Berth Holders Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 27 October 2018

Present: Pamela Hughes (*Marian*, Chair), John O'Sullivan (*Rathlin*, Vice-Chair), Keith Elford (*Crackpot*, Treasurer), Mark Walker (*Danny Jo*, Secretary), John Whittaker (*Moonwinds*, Membership Secretary), Colin Turner (*Camar*, Committee member), Jerry Armitage & Sue Selby (*Ocean of Torbay*), John Atkinson & Matt Smith (*Anna*), Andy Baguley (*Shrimpo*), T. Bingham & Y. Bingham (*Trilogy*), John Brumfitt & James Brumfitt (*Solitaire*) Nigel Buck (*Mallard*), Phil Cooke (*Mwingo*), Ian Craft & Kathy Jones (*Romain*) John Dolan & Chris Dolan (*Orca*), Carl Elton & T. Simpson (*Turumti*), Daniel Farrimond (*Serene*), David Ferguson (*Arwen*), Dave Green (*Keoki*), Rob Hancock & Sue Hancock (*Okavango*), Paul Hayden (*Sami*), John Hey (*Adiamo*), Geoff Lloyd & Betty Lloyd (*Quadriga*), Andy Stevenson (*Sea Gem*), G. Talbot (*Premier Cru*), David Williams (*Shantih*) and Eddie Williams (*Morwennol*).

- 1. Apologies were received from Charles Townley (*Meganza*), Alun Pari Huws (*Glaslyn*), John Grisdale (*Ffantasia*), Brian Oulton (*Nauta*), Michael Spencer (*Bay Bar Dos*), David Clough (*Sarico*), David Collen & Eve Collen (*Astraeus*), Tim Mitchell (*Delphin*), Neil Broome & Anne Broome (*Enterprise*), Neville Roberts (*Tryfan*), Roger Moores & Paula Moores (*Basanti*), Darren Flint (*Light Wave*) and John Wrench (*Marian*).
- 2. Dredging update. After welcoming members to the meeting, the Chair reported on a successful start to the dredging programme. Approximately half of area 'A' had been completed by 1 November. Dredging would continue in the southeast corner of the dock, although it was anticipated that debris from the Cadnant in that area might cause some delay. The Vice-chair reported on a communication he had received from Llyr Jones, giving further details of the dredging plan and undertaking to send berth holders via Mark Shackleton the Dockmaster, regular updates about the progress of the dredging.

There followed some discussion about the material brought into the dock by the Cadnant outfall. Points raised included: the need for a trap to prevent debris and sediment reaching the dock; the Council's licence to release untreated sewage into the Menai Strait (albeit an exceptional exercise); and the existence of an earlier survey reporting that 70% of the sediment in the dock enters via the Cadnant.

It was agreed that a letter of thanks should be sent to Llyr Jones for his invaluable contribution to the dredging programme. Eddie Williams agreed to prepare a Welsh translation. *Action: Hon. Sec. and Eddie Williams*

- 3. Minutes of the AGM held on 2 December 2017. The draft minutes (previously circulated) were approved as a correct record.
- 4. Minutes of the General meeting held on 9 June 2018. The draft minutes (previously circulated) were approved as a correct record.
 - 5. Chair's report.
 - Thank you to all members including Committee members for your support this year; to Mark Walker Hon Secretary for service and John O'Sullivan Vice Chair and VDBHA founder both standing down from posts this year.
 - Dredging this has remained the top priority. After the disappointment of delay in May 2018 the dredger is now in action.
 - Membership is approximately 40% of berth holders prior to distribution of the recruitment flyer in October 2018. Free membership for all members until 1/4/18 was considered agreeable to assist with recruitment and streamline the website administration with CHT berth renewal data.
 - The website with GDPR compliance is developing positively (JW & MW); all dredging
 progress updates have been available on the site during negotiations; links to emails for
 Chair, Hon Sec and Membership Sec are being established.
 - Positive negotiations with CHT regarding a Berth Holder Agreement are in progress.
 - An update of the survey for redistribution in the near future will be undertaken again by Debbie Cassidy.

- 6. Treasurer's report. The accounts for the year ending 31 October 2018 were accepted.
- 7. Election of Officers and committee members. The following were elected unopposed:

Chair - Pamela Hughes-

Treasurer – Keith Elford Secretary – Kathy Jones

Membership Secretary – John Whittaker (also agreed to continue as website manager) Committee members - Andy Stevenson, Eddie Williams and Colin Turner,

- 8. Membership fee and proposal to change of annual renewal date to 1 April. Agreed:
 - that the membership fee should be set at £10, to be payable on 1 April annually, the 2018 subscription being valid until 1 April 2019;
 - that the annual general meeting should be held in April annually:
 - to explore the possibility of sending an offer of membership and collection of membership fees with the annual berth holder renewal documents. Action Chair

9. Any other business:

Berth Holder Agreement. Noted that the Harbour Master had agreed the inclusion of clauses to incorporate in the draft service agreement for berth holders: the provision of a safe/secure/appropriate berth; and the provision of safe navigable access to and from the berth.

Survey. Agreed that another survey of members' views and priorities should be conducted in 2019. The following to be included among the issues for prioritization: completion of dredging, single sex toilet facilities, berth holder agreement, disposal facilities for flotsam fished out of the dock, security.

Presentation to Dr John O'Sullivan. The Chair presented J O'S with a tub of ice cream and a digital multimeter as tokens of the Association's appreciation for his work on behalf of the Association.